IEEE Workshop on Big Data Metadata and Management (BDMM ’2017)


big data header

IEEE Workshop on Big Data Metadata and Management 

(BDMM ’2017)

Boston, MA, USA

Dec 11-14, 2017

Sponsored by IEEE Big Data Initiative (BDI)



More information coming soon!





Paper submission instructions 

This workshop will only accept for review original papers that have not been previously published. Papers should be formatted based on the IEEE Transactions journals and conferences style; maximum allowed camera-ready paper length is ten (10) pages. Submissions must be in Adobe PDF format, including text, figures and references. Please use the following submission site to submit your paper(s):

Workshop website:


Preliminary Program Schedule

Day 1

8:00 am - 8:10 am Welcome, Wo
8:10 am - 8:20 am Opening Remark, Dave Belanger, Chair of IEEE Big Data Technical Community, Stevens Institute of Technology
8:20 am - 10:00 am Briefing about the use case, datasets, challenges, Q/As, Wo
10:00 am - 6:00 pm Solving hackathon challenges
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm Evaluation, See Team & Criteria

Technical Approach (40 pts)
- Data mashup (20 pts)
- Big Data Analytics (20 pts)

Novelty (40 pts)
- Creativity (20 pts)
- Efficiency (20 pts)

Results (20 pts)
- Output content (10 pts)
- Output format (10 pts)

- All team members win a t-shirt
- Rank three teams with highest points combined from all judges


Day 2

9:00 am - 9:10 am Welcome, Wo
9:10 am - 9:30 am Opening Remark, David Belanger, Chair of IEEE Big Data Technical Community, Stevens Institute of Technology
9:30 am - 10:00 am Keynote Speaker, Digital Object Architecture, Larry Lannom, VP of CNRI
10:00 am - 10:20 am Invited Speaker, Alex Kuo, Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor, School of Health Information Science, University of Victoria, Canada
10:20 am - 10:50 am Coffee Break
10:50 am - 11:10 am Presentation 1, Authors
11:10 am - 11:30 am Presentation 2, Authors
11:30 am - 11:50 am Presentation 3, Authors
11:50 am - 12:10 pm Presentation 4, Authors
12:10 pm - 12:30 pm Presentation 5, Authors
12:30 pm - 2:00 pm Lunch
2:00 pm - 2:20 pm Presentation 6, Authors
2:20 pm - 2:40 pm Presentation 7, Authors
2:40 pm - 3:00 pm Presentation 8, Authors
3:00 pm - 3:30 pm Coffee Break
3:30 pm - 3:50 pm Presentation 9, Authors
3:50 pm - 4:10 pm Presentation 10, Authors
4:10 pm - 4:40 pm Award ceremony, David Belanger (handout prizes) and Kathy Grise (Moderator)
4:40 pm - 4:50 pm Announcement for next BDGMM Event, Wo


Important Dates

Oct 10, 2017: Due date for full workshop papers submission 

Nov 1, 2017: Notification of paper acceptance to authors 

Nov 15, 2017: Camera-ready of accepted papers 

Dec 11-14, 2017: Workshops


Review procedure 

All submitted papers will be reviewed by 3 international program committees.


Workshop Organizers 

Conference Co-Chairs

Dr. Ricardo Baeza-Yates, NTENT, USA/Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Spain

Prof. Xiaohua Tony Hu, Drexel University, USA


Program Co-Chairs

Prof. Jian-Yun Nie, University of Montreal, Canada

Prof. Zoran Obradovic, Temple University, USA

Dr. Toyotaro Suzumura, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA


Industry and Government Program Committee Chairs

Dr. Raghunath Nambiar, CISCO, USA

Dr. Sudarsan Rachuri, Dept of Energy, USA

Dr. Rumi Ghosh< BOSCH, USA

Dr. Chonggang Wang< InterDigital Inc., USA

Dr. Hui Zang< Huawei Research, USA


Workshop Chairs

Prof. Alfredo Cuzzocrea, University of Trieste, Italy

Prof. Jian Tang, Syracuse University, USA

Prof. Masashi Toyoda, University of Tokyo, Japan


Tutorial Chairs

Prof. Feng Cheng, SUNY at Albany, USA

Dr. Jianliang Gao, Drexel University, USA

Dr. Mu Qiao, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA


Poster Chairs

Prof. Alexandru Costan, IRISA/INSA, France

Prof. Jingrui He, Arizona State University, USA

Prof. Feng Luo, Clemson University, USA


Sponsorship Chairs

Prof. Yicheng Tu, University of South Florida, USA


Registration Chair

Prof. Yuan An, Drexel University, USA


Publicity Chairs

Prof. Yihua Huang, Nanjing University, China

Prof. Wookey Lee, Inha University, Korea

Dr. Dominik Slezak, Infobright, Canada / University of Warsaw, Poland


Student Travel Award Chair

Prof. Jianwu Wang, Univ of Maryland at Baltimore Country, USA


Technical Program Committee

Name Organization Country
Miyuru Dayarathna WSO2 Inc. Sri Lanka
Kathy Grise IEEE USA
Wei Hu Nanjing University China
Carson Leung University of Manitoba Canada
Huansheng Ning USTB China
Lijun Qian Prairie View A&M University USA
Weining Qian East China Normal University


Yufei Ren IBM USA
Alex Thomo University of Victoria Canada
Cherry Tom IEEE USA
Jens Weber University of Victoria Canada
Lingfei Wu College of William and Mary USA


Keynote Speaker 



Panel Discussion 

Topic:  (TBD)

Pageviews: 10325